All four incumbents managed to keep their seats on the Greater Latrobe School Board.

Incumbents Eric Hauser, Susan Mains, Merle Musick and Dr. Michael Zorch won four-year terms on the Greater Latrobe School Board, while Paul McCommons also earned a four-year spot as a director, according to unofficial results from Tuesday’s general election.

There were seven candidates, including the four incumbents, who competed for five open seats on Tuesday.

Hauser, Mains, Musick and Zorch won bids for re-election, while McCommons secured his first term. Cathy Sarraf and David Vitula were also on the ballot.

There were originally six candidates, including five incumbents, who won nominations for a four-year spot on the board following the primary election in May, but the passing of Conrad Lazor altered the ballot.

Lazor cross-filed in May and won nominations on both the Democratic and Republican tickets. Lazor was the school board vice president and in his fourth year as a director. But the longtime school board member also served on the board from 1987 to 1995 and again from 2003 to 2011. Longtime director Kathryn Elder was appointed in August to fill the unexpired term of Lazor, who passed away in July.

There could be an additional seat available on the school board.

Mike O’Barto, a former chairman of the Unity Township Supervisors and current Greater Latrobe School Board member, won a six-year term on the Unity Township Board of Supervisors, according to unofficial results from Tuesday’s general election.

Hauser was the top vote-getter on Tuesday with 5,065, or 17.53% of the votes. That edged out Mains by less than 100 votes, as she finished with 4,966, or 17.19%, just 99 back from Hauser. Musick wasn’t far behind with 4,849 (16.79%), or 117 votes off of Mains, and Zorch finished fourth with 4,495, or 15.56% of the votes.

McCommons earned the fifth spot on the school board, according to unofficial results on Tuesday, with 3,710, or 12.84% of the votes. Sarraf finished sixth with 3,243 votes (11.23%), while Vitula ended with 2,487, or 8.61% of the votes. There were 72 write-in votes, just 0.25%.

Hauser, the school board president, has served for eight years. Mains is in her 28th year of service at Greater Latrobe, and won her eighth term on the school board, while Zorch has served for 20 years.

Musick is in his eighth year of service. McCommons, a former state trooper who has resided in Unity Township for 47 years, lost to O’Barto in May for the Republican nomination in the Unity Township Supervisors race. He also fell short of a supervisors bid in the 2017 general election, prior to winning a seat on the school board Tuesday.

In May, Hauser, Mains and Musick cross-filed and won nominations on both the Democratic and Republican tickets. Zorch, who filed to run as a Republican only, captured his nomination on the Republican side, while Vitula cross-filed, but won his nomination on the Democratic end. Sarraf was nominated to fill Lazor’s vacancy on the ballot on the Democratic side, while McCommons was nominated on the Republican end.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.