Four incumbents and one newcomer each earned four-year seats on the Derry Area School Board in Tuesday’s general election, according to unofficial results.

Each of the candidates — current board members Kevin Liberoni, Nathan Doherty, Bill Feldbusch and Dean Reed, along with newcomer Sean Kemmerer — all cross-filed and appeared on Democratic and Republican ballots.

Liberoni was the top vote-getter, earning 2,715 votes (21% of the vote). Right behind him was Doherty with 2,623 votes (20.3%), followed by Reed (2,591 votes, 20%), Bill Feldbusch (2,493 votes, 19.3%) and Kemmerer (2,405 votes, 18.6%), respectively.

Additionally, there were 70 write-in votes cast Tuesday, per unofficial results.

The four incumbents were vying for new terms after earning seats in the 2015 general election. Current school board member Jodie Edmiston did not seek re-election.

Liberoni has a long history on the school board, having previously served consecutive terms until 2001. When he first joined the board, Liberoni became the youngest elected school director in Derry Area history at the age of 23.

Doherty is in his 14th year as a school board member. His time on the board includes four consecutive years as president, his terms coinciding with the Grandview Elementary School renovation project.

Reed is a lifelong resident of Derry Township, while Feldbusch grew up in Torrance.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.